Contents > Calibrate your monitor > Colorimeters 6 / 8
 

Kit i1 Display Pro review

 

i1Display Pro review - X-Rite - Part 1
Published on July 12, 2011 / Updated on December 09, 2018

 

It is still the best monitor calibration sensor available today - at a reasonable price - (winter 2018) and its organic glass filters instead of gelatin filters promise a long service life. Perhaps the next generation of displays will overwhelm its immense qualities? But in the meantime...


In July 2011, X-Rite launched the replacement for the famous Eye One Display II, the i1Display Pro and its new i1Profiler software. Everything was new: the colorimeter with (organic) glass filter like the new Colormunki Display and the software. At 180 pounds, it is positioned as the most expensive colorimeter on the market (except the Discus at nearly 1000 pounds!) but also as the Reference... and this is still the case in 2018, especially since the switch to version 1.7 will significantly improve the quality of ICC profiles on all recent screens! The adjustment possibilities are endless and benefit from the latest technological advances in order to ideally calibrate all the screens on the market, even the latest wide gamut LCD panels or laptop or iMac screens and to carry out all possible quality controls. So we have to deal with the ultimate refinements in hardware and software. On the other hand, this software is not intended for beginners because even in "basic" calibration mode, there are many options and will not always talk to novices.

 

 
 

In a few words...

 

i1Display Pro - X-Rite

£178.00

Except for the expensive Discus, this i1Display Pro is simply the best monitor calibration sensor on the market today! - Read my conclusion  

 
  Other offers...  
 
£178.00
EUR 230,00
 
   

 

 

Introduction to the X-Rite i1Display Pro

This monitor and projector calibration sensor is therefore the replacement for the Eye One Display 2 in the X-Rite monitor sensor range. This is the expert sensor of the range. It allows to calibrate all the latest generation monitors with wide gamut and LED technology or video projectors and thanks to a new ADC function (Automatic Display Control), allows to calibrate laptop or iMac monitors with only one brightness setting much better. Finally, they have many very advanced quality control modules. 

New! Since February 2014, it has also been used to calibrate Apple's iPad and was significantly improved in July 2015 (Version 1.6.3) and August 2016 (Version 1.6.6) to be compatible with the latest video standards (DCI-P3 and REC 2020) and in December 2016 in 1.6.7 to be compatible with the latest iMac Apple 2016 5K with gamut P3. Finally, in September 2017, i1Profiler is finally updated (version 1.8) to be compatible with high resolution displays (4K or 5K) and MacOS Mojave.

The calibration kit and its box

The X-Rite i1Display Pro display sensor is sold with a new three-channel RGB colorimeter with organic glass filters for long life and, like most display calibration sensors, with a small mobile counterweight for ballasting the USB cable. This sensor also has a conventional screw thread for mounting on a tripod to calibrate a video projector. The kit typically contains the installation drivers as well as the calibration software, i1Profiler (which allows you to calibrate a printer if you have a spectrophotometer), brand new. Nothing but classic!

   
The i1Display Pro and its ambient light diffuser   The i1Display Pro and its sensor
   
 

Main features

  • High end technological ergonomic multifunction measuring instrument;
  • Organic glass filters on three channels and no longer in gelatin.
  • The latest generation i1Profiler screen and projector calibration and characterization software, compatible with all modern display and projection technologies, including LED and LCD screens with extended gamut, laptop, iMac, iPad screens, especially since version 1.6.1, major evolution! Download the latest version 1.8 for high definition and Mojave display support.
  • Infinite adjustment of white point, luminance, contrast ratio, gamma, etc.
  • Intelligent iterative characterization: Adaptive technology that measures and analyzes the chromatic capabilities of each single screen for increased profile accuracy;
  • Intelligent ambient lighting control: measurement, compensation and continuous monitoring of ambient lighting conditions;
  • Flare Correct™ mesure et compensation des reflets à la surface de l'écran;
  • Automatic adjustment of screen controls (ADC) to speed up the characterization process and avoid manual adjustments;
  • Video projector calibration;
  • Calibrate and characterize multiple screens within a workgroup;
  • Quality control of the display and monitoring of trends over time.

  Technical specifications  
  i1 Display Pro Average price : £178.00 Inc. VAT
Colorimeter
i1Display - RGB + ambient light colorimeter
 
Software
i1Profiler 1.8.2 (Nov. 2018) Mac + PC
  Panel technology 9 choices (including the most recent 4K)
 
Luminance
Yes, accurately
 
Colour temperature
Infinite possibilities
  Gamma setting Yes
 
Ambient light control
Yes
  Multi-screen alignment Yes
  Projector calibration Yes
  Company xrite.com
   
 

The installation of the i1Profiler software (in its latest version)

Very important note! Especially since version 1.6.1 of July 2015, remember to update your software well because this is not yet another evolution with bug fixes but a major update. In addition, the latest version 1.8.2 of November 2018 provides full support for high definition displays and latest MacOS Mojave.

   
 
 

Download the latest version of the software and XRD!

The i1Profiler software (PC and MAC), sold with the i1Display pro is also available for free download if you have another compatible colorimeter - Download i1Profiler 1.8.2 (November 2018)   (i1Profiler 1.8.2 is Mac OS Mojave compatible.)

Download XRD 3.0.11 or 17 (Oct. 2018)    if your system does not recognize the colorimeter.

 
     
   
 

It is particularly simple and classic. Nothing particular to say, so! When you click on the application icon, the language detection is now automatic. Then, when opening, the software will open on the main menu which will give access to several options:

1 - Use mode: "Basic" or "Advanced" in a very nice dark grey interface.

   
  i1Profiler interface in "Basic" mode.
  User mode: "Basic" above: it is then possible to calibrate a screen, a projector or a printer...
In "Advanced" mode below: it is possible to calibrate the same devices but with more options such as monitoring assurance, color temperature selection or screen uniformity.
   
  i1Profiler interface in "Advanced" mode.
 

2 - License: Depending on the license purchased, you will also be able to calibrate your printer (but you will need a spectrophotometer).

Important note! The iPad is not calibrated by this software but by a dedicated software that will, however, use the same sensor.

3 - Application parameters: choice of the sensor used for the calibration below (Automatic).

   
 
   
  4 - Application information: Software and XRD version as well as the search for updates (automatic or not).
   
 
   
 

5 - Help: video tutorials or online help.

 


top

 

 

 

Calibration with i1Profiler step by step

The i1Profiler software allows you to characterize a screen or projector from its main window in two user modes: "Basic" and "Advanced". Depending on the mode chosen, there will be more or less options. I will make the clarification whenever necessary but I will make this tutorial with the Advanced Mode.

A - First tab: Screen settings / default settings

We will calibrate our monitor and for that we will click on the "Characterization" button in the menu on the top left

   
 
   
  When you click on "Characterization" a new window opens below where you will choose the screen to calibrate if you have several screens and many default settings.
   
ColorChecker Passport tenu en main
  Screen settings window in "Advanced" user mode.
  1 -Choose the screen to calibrate and characterize (basic and advanced mode): Just click on it (1) and the window will move automatically on it. Practical!
   
 
   
 

Then (1bis), choose the type of lighting technology for your monitor - Updated at the end of 2017 - if the default choice, i. e. automatic, is not correct. This choice allows the software to choose the color matrix it will use to achieve a perfect calibration! It turns out that with a very large number of displays, this choice has no impact on the quality of calibration and therefore on the Delta E. In any case, after testing, I had never noticed any difference in calibration by changing this criterion up to version 1.5.6 of i1Profiler. It is quite different since I installed version 1.6.1 and especially on the first screen I tried since this update. On the BenQ PG2401PT, IPS LED GBLed panel Graphic Art display, Delta E goes from 2.73 to 0.84 by choosing the "right" technology!

   
 
 

How to choose the technology of your screen panel technology?

Why and how to choose? The color matrix on which your monitor profile is based is not the same. There may therefore really be differences in calibration visible in the form of a dominant. Your monitor then seems to you anything but neutral and this is one of the goals of calibration!

CCFL technology is the most widespread in older flat screens since it is a "neon type" technology. This is the default choice.

On the other hand, more and more displays are manufactured with new technologies based on LED, white or RGB. If your display is LED technology without specification, it is probably LEDs or white diodes: iMac, MacBook Pro 2011 and later, many recent wide gamut displays (2012 and later). It is then preferable to choose White Diode.

If your display is RGB LED, it will be specified because it is an expensive technology and when manufacturers use it, they are proud of it and let it be known: choose RGB diode.

If you don't know what to choose and your screen is not Wide Gamut, try CCFL AND WHITE DIODE.

If you don't know what to choose and your screen is Wide Gamut, try CCFL Large Gamut AND WHITE DIODE.

Some displays at NEC or the latest BenQ PG2401PT use GBLed LEDs and that changes everything!

As a last resort, therefore, do a calibration with two solutions as recommended above and see which calibration seems the most neutral to you.

 
   
   
  2 - Choose the white point (basic and advanced mode): there are many possibilities that we will detail now:
   
 
   
 
  • You can choose from the drop-down list one of the target illuminants: D50, D55, D65 or D75, the D65 corresponding to the famous 6500K of sunlight in the middle of the day.
  • Native: the color temperature of the display;
  • Daylight temperature: you can choose the color temperature you want to the nearest Kelvin;
  • In xy values for specialists;
  • Measure: measurement of the ambient light of the part in chrominance;


My advice to choose the white point! The illuminant D50 and D55 only work on the high-end EIZO and NEC displays, natively in D50 or D55. On the other screens, they will be frankly yellowish. In these other cases, I like to choose 6000/6500 K manually, neither too warm nor too cold. I never use the "measure..." function.


4 - Choose the gamma (advanced mode) : there are several possibilities but only one interests us here:

 
  Advanced mode profile settings window because these options are not available in "Basic" mode.
 

My advice to choose the gamma ! Choose 2.2 which is perfectly adapted to screen vision.


5 - Rapport de contraste   (mode avancé) : Contrast ratio (advanced mode): it is possible to choose the contrast ratio of the screen from the drop-down list:

   
 
   
 
  • You can choose native: this is the maximum screen contrast;  
  • Personalize... : You can choose the ratio you want to harmonize several screens for example by choosing the lowest common denominator;
  • PCS ICC black point: for experts and especially those who only use their screen to print because 287:1 is the contrast ratio of the paper seen by one eye;  
  • From the printer profile: Does not work in my house!!!


My advice to choose the contrast ratio! I choose "Native" by default but a photographer who prints a lot at home will prefer "287:1", the contrast ratio of the eye looking at a sheet of paper.


6 - Enable Flare Correct (advanced mode):
Enable Flare Correct (advanced mode): Measures stray light on reflective screens to adjust contrast. This is useful on laptop screens with bright panels but of course also on Apple iMac screens IF you always work in the same room, otherwise.... (The measurement will be made at the end of the measurement process of the colored patches).

   
 
   
  7 - Active ambient light control (basic and advanced mode): as said, this allows the profile to be adjusted according to the ambient light by regular measurement of the latter after calibration. (If you enable this option, the colorimeter will measure the ambient light at the end of the measurement of the colored patches and then regularly according to the preferences you have selected - see below.)
   
 
   
 

My opinion on the active control of the room brightness!If the function really works well and has a real visible influence, I find that it is very pronounced, especially in color temperature, and that it becomes very complicated to balance several screens together. To date, I recommend using only one screen and only if you do not have compact fluorescent lighting. Otherwise, it's a disaster!

Click on the "Next" button at the bottom right...

 

B - Second tab: Default profile settings (Advanced mode)

   
 
   
 

Only one option will a priori be modified here but it is very important - the famous V4 standard to be changed for V2 -.

Choose between profile versions V2 or V4? V4 is the new standard and not all photo viewing software uses it yet, such as the Windows viewer for example. So if you create a V4 screen profile, the images displayed in your viewer will be very dark. Always on a PC but in Photoshop or Lightroom, everything will be fine because these programs manage this standard. On Mac OS, everything seems OK. My advice! Choose the V2 standard well unless you know very well what you are doing! 

C - third tab: default patch set (advanced mode)

This is where you can choose the number of colored patches that will scroll in front of the probe. The more patches there are, the more accurate the ICC profile will be. It is still to be checked and it is not as easy as that to check.

   
   
 
  • Small : 118 patches - Number by defaut of the basic user mode.
  • Medium : 211 patches
  • Large : 462 patches

My advice to choose the number of colorful patches! A great quality of this new colorimeter is the speed with which it measures patches: impressive! So why not choose the large number of patches once every four weeks? That said, I have never seen a gap between these options in the end. The worried will choose the most and the hurried the least!

D - Fourth tab: the measurement (basic and advanced mode)

The measurement of the patches so the characterization will finally be launched and you will surely be surprised by the speed with which the patches scroll in this new version of i1Profiler (if there is a choice of the number of patches in Advanced Mode, it is by default 118 in Basic Mode.)

   
   
 

1 - Automatic screen control (basic and advanced mode): This is where you choose whether or not to enable ADC (Automatic Display Control) or, in other words, automatic control of brightness, contrast and color temperature for displays that have very few settings such as laptop displays or Apple displays such as those in the iMac.

My advice on the great ADC feature of i1Profiler! The ADC function: an ingenious function that works really well on all screens and is essential on laptops or iMacs. Do not activate on high-end displays. This is not necessary.

2 - Adjust brightness and contrast manually (basic and advanced mode): if your monitor has all the settings for brightness, contrast and CT, it is possible to make the correct settings with the help of the sensor.... but also the ADC function which then works very well.

My advice! The ADC function not only works very well with laptop screens (MacBook Pro or iMac with glossy display for example) but also on desktop screens. The automation can therefore have good results! I have performed tests with the ADC function even on desktop screens, with all possible settings and with the naked eye it is impossible to see the difference.

   
 
 

Be careful if you calibrate a laptop or an iMac!

Indeed, these computers always activate by default in their monitor preferences the "Automatic brightness" option, which must absolutely be deactivated BEFORE starting the calibration.


 
   
   
 

E - Reset your monitor and choose the generic profile of your screen in your OS preferences:

   
 
   
 

F - Start measurement:

Finally, "Start measurement" of the display by clicking on the button, under the colored patches. If you have activated the ADC mode, the sensor will automatically take control of the brightness, contrast and color temperature settings. Otherwise, the software will assist you. Just follow the instructions, very clear. At the end, if you have activated the Flare Correct or Ambient Light Control mode, the software will guide you through these very simple measurements as shown in the picture on the right.

   
 
   
 
   
 
   
 

G - Fifth tab of the advanced mode (or third of the basic mode): ICC profile

You will finally be able to name your screen ICC profile, save it, activate it and choose the ambient light control mode if you chose this option in step 1. You will also be able to activate the characterization reminder, at most, every four weeks.

1 - Profile name - Give a name to your easily identifiable profile.

   
 
   
 

2 - Profile distribution profil - Leave at the user level.

3 - Characterization reminder - If you absolutely want a reminder, take between two weeks or even a month. Frankly, apart from professional retouchers who can still calibrate their screens every two weeks to really - but then really - reassure you in 2018, without risk, you can calibrate your screen less often. Twice a year, at least when your screen is new, is not a heresy in my opinion. In this case, you will have understood it, choose "None".

   
   
  4 - Ambient lighting control - I do not recommend it!
   
   
  5 - Create and save your ICC profile - Click on the button :
   
   
  Calibration with the i1Display Pro sensor is complete!
   
 

On the next page, we will now check the quality of the calibration performed with the best colorimeter on the market - Do we see the difference? - Second part of the i1Display Pro calibration sensor test Suivre

   
 
 

To be remembered!


 The name Pro is marketing: of course it is Pro but how could an amateur not want to know if his monitor is well calibrated, uniform, etc. and choose his color temperature? At 178 pounds it's tempting!

 Whether you choose advanced or basic mode, the quality of the profile will be the same.

 If you choose the advanced mode, which I recommend, you will be able to choose a color temperature of 6000-6500 K, neither too warm nor too cold but it is only a personal recommendation!

 
     
   
 
i1 Display Pro - X-Rite
£178.00

£178.00

EUR 230,00
 
     
 
 
Here is my full review of the i1Display Pro from X-Rite..
 
- Full review of the i1Display Pro
  - Introduction to the i1Display Pro
- Calibration of the i1Display Pro
- To be remembered...
- Next : ICC profile check
 

- Why and how to calibrate your monitor ?
- How to choose your monitor ?


 

Calibrate your monitor with the
best colorimeter: i1 Display Pro !

Read my full review...

£178.00

Calibrate your photo printer with the best quality/price ratio: i1 Studio !

Read my full review...  

Good deals : £338.67

   
 

 

     

 

 

 
 

 

       

From 2002, this Website offers...
 

This site dedicated to colour management for photographers and videographers, beginners or professionals, visited by more than 180,000 people last year, offers on the one hand to help you easily understand and put into practice the colour management of your photos and on the other hand helps you make the best investments with more than 100 hardware or software reviews since April 2002 in French and 2014 in English! It is the result of a patient work and a long experience shared by a professional but above all passionate photographer !

 

Where do the tested products come from ? Is my opinion completely independent ?

All the products I talk about on this site have been tested by me either following a personal purchase, a friendly loan, during a training session at a customer's site or after a manufacturer's loan.
they thank me for the precision of my remarks which will help their future products to progress. So things are moving and my impartial opinion is more and more appreciated.... If I believe your emails, your trust marks and even some brands.

 

You often ask me how this site is financed since its content is free...

Here is how I have been doing, historically since 2002 (in French), to make it easier for you to contribute: the affiliation and sale of my PDFs (in French).

 

Here's how affiliation works. Each time you click on the links on this site to my partner shops, for example from my test pages or on the thumbnails on the right, they know that you come from me (thanks to a piece of code in the link) and give mea small percentage on the whole of your basket (my advice of purchase as well as all your purchases in this shop). Nothing prevents you from thinking about my site when you buy from these online stores even if you don't want to buy a monitor or a colorimeter!

 

... And how to participate!

So my proposal when you don't know how to thank me for the free content: think about using my links to buy in these different partner shops because they play the game!

 

 

Legal informations

Legal information is available on my page Legal information - Contact me...

 
 

 

     

 

 

Top



 

US Version  |   Sitemap  |   About   |   Legal information